Illustrated poem — Nayyirah Waheed

Happy New Year folks 🙂 Have you all written New Year’s resolutions? Personally, I’ve had a bit of a rough time with a few things that are making me feel less like 2016 changes much, so I’m holding out until the Lunar New Year to formally make my resolutions 😉 In thinking about pain, fear, and sorrow, I found the following piece by Jiddu Krishnamurti to be useful, and in particular the following part:

“Sorrow has to be understood and not ignored. To ignore it is to give continuity to suffering; to ignore it is to escape from suffering. To understand suffering needs an operational, experimental approach. To experiment is not to seek a definite result. If you seek a definite result, experiment is not possible. If you know what you want, the going after is not experimentation. If you seek to get over suffering, which is to condemn it, then you do not understand its whole process; when you try to overcome your suffering, your only concern is to avoid it. To understand suffering, there must be not positive action of the mind to justify or to overcome it: the mind must be entirely passive, silently watchful, so that it can follow without hesitation the unfolding of sorrow.”

I’m learning how to watch the way my sorrow unfolds. Last week when I was crying and crying about some small thing that triggered a larger reaction to all the things that I perceived to be difficult in my life, my best friend Alex sent me a photo he took while we were visiting The Natural Bridges Beach in Santa Cruz along with the following poem by Nayyirah Waheed:

alex

“if
the ocean
can calm itself,
so can you.
we
are both
salt water
mixed with
air.”

It was a deeply moving poem to read as I let out some heavy tears. I was so moved that I decided to watercolor the poem so that I could put it up and remind myself of the ocean in me.

My hope is that it will help others too when things feel overwhelming.

nayirah

About Miyuki Baker

Miyuki is a resident of the place where circles overlap. As a queer, nomadic, multi-racial/lingual female mixed-media artist activist and healer, she uses common or discarded objects, personal anecdotes, public spaces and performance to make accessible art that brings non-mainstream identities and ideas into maximum visibility. After graduating from Swarthmore College in 2012, she traveled for 14 months as a Watson Fellow to fifteen countries documenting the intersections of art and activism in queer/trans communities in blog posts and self-published magazines while making performance art. The eight magazines Miyuki created on this trip (queerscribe.com) and their strong media following exemplify her illustration/graphic design, storytelling and people skills. Her work has been featured in several magazines such as Hyphen, Broken Pencil and Knik, blogs and radio shows, well-known for their interactive and eye-catching mixed media approach to activism that utilizes both online media and on-site performance and workshops. This fall she will begin the PhD program at UC Berkeley in Performance Studies. You can follow her travels at heymiyuki.wordpress.com and email her at heymiyuki@gmail.com

One comment

  1. Beautiful illustration!

Leave a Reply

