Week #3 of December 2014: Daily self-portrait challenge

Screen Shot 2014-12-22 at 8.57.26 PMDay 15 of my month-long daily self-portrait series. Marker and colored pencil on Ale’s old school worksheets. Queer pride! unnamed10unnamed4Messed up with the numbers…it was the 16th! Oil pastel and marker on brown paper. Based on my outfit this morning where I was wearing a pink (although it came out lavender here) wig! Not my favorite portrait so far but it was too late to turn back 😉unnamed3Watercolor pencils at Claudia’s house (Claudia made the mandala).unnamed2unnamed1Colored pencil and marker on two evaluation sheets from the eye doctor. This one’s a bit more morbid because I was feeling a bit depressed about my right eye for the past few weeks because of an inflammation of the iris in that eye. I had to dilate my pupil every day and put steroid drops in every three hours. The doctor told me today that it’s better now but that my vision has suffered. What was already severe nearsighted -7.25 is now -9.0. Of course I am grateful to be able to see but I had a moment in the doctor’s office today of feeling pity for myself. Ha. Anyways. Here’s the result of that emotion. Of course I’m inspired by Frida who made countless self-portraits about her disabilities.

unnamedunnamed5Was talking to my mom who scolded me for using my eyes so much despite my vision loss and the iritis. So day 19 was a super quick one. Line drawing with marker, glued onto a newspaper photo. unnamed6Inspired by my very plastery Japanese passport photo and went all out with the Japanese theme. 🌸🌸🌸 Gold, silver, and bronze marker + colored pencil and collaged piece on top of a gradient yellow to orange piece of paper Claudia gave me the other day. Wrote the details in Japanese to fit the theme 😉

unnamed8Posca on paper.

unnamed9


Stay tuned for self-portraits for the rest of the month by following me on instragram: @heymiyuki or on twitter: @miyukibaker 

About Miyuki Baker

Miyuki is a resident of the place where circles overlap. As a queer, nomadic, multi-racial/lingual female mixed-media artist activist and healer, she uses common or discarded objects, personal anecdotes, public spaces and performance to make accessible art that brings non-mainstream identities and ideas into maximum visibility. After graduating from Swarthmore College in 2012, she traveled for 14 months as a Watson Fellow to fifteen countries documenting the intersections of art and activism in queer/trans communities in blog posts and self-published magazines while making performance art. The eight magazines Miyuki created on this trip (queerscribe.com) and their strong media following exemplify her illustration/graphic design, storytelling and people skills. Her work has been featured in several magazines such as Hyphen, Broken Pencil and Knik, blogs and radio shows, well-known for their interactive and eye-catching mixed media approach to activism that utilizes both online media and on-site performance and workshops. This fall she will begin the PhD program at UC Berkeley in Performance Studies. You can follow her travels at heymiyuki.wordpress.com and email her at heymiyuki@gmail.com

2 comments

  1. Beautiful. I especially love the eye one… and then the one afterward (good reminder, Mom!).

  2. Thanks!
    Right? Moms know best 😉

Leave a Reply

