Updated shop with fun perler bead necklaces!

Hey friends ❤

I’m excited to announce some fun new pieces I’ve added to my etsy shop that I’ve been making for ages. They’re made out of a material some of you might have played with growing up to make Pokemon characters and the like. I first had the idea to make these when I stumbled upon a pile of my old perler beads in my parents’ garage. Since then I’ve made dozens of these necklaces, usually as gifts for friends. Whenever I wear mine, I get comments from strangers on the streets and so it was about time I finally put these up for sale.  These necklaces are super lightweight which makes them great for taking them on the road. As a nomadic artist, I have to be super choosy about my jewelry but my perler bead necklace always makes the cut.

The funds raised from selling these necklaces will help me as I travel in Latin America (more on that soon) where I’ll be touring on my bike and making lots of art!

Check out the shop by clicking below or right here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MiyukiBaker You’ll find my Queer Scribe zines and posters as well so don’t miss out 😉

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.24.31 PM

Fun fact: When I was visiting Swarthmore College, my partner gave me the great idea to take my camera out in the good weather and ask around if folks would like to model my necklaces.  I texted a couple of friends but there were also a few strangers. Thanks Swarthmore–it was great fun! And look at how professional they look 🙂

icymoon

This one is called Icy Moon because it makes me think of a blue moon half way to the full or new moon! Brrrr!

almostflorida

This one is called Almost Florida because it kind of looks like the state of Florida 😉

candycorn

This one is called Candycorn (like the candy!) for it’s color theme.

smores

This one is called S’mores (you know, like the marshmallow and piece of chocolate melted in between graham crackers) for it’s similar color theme.
starburst

This one is called Yoni for its obviously yonic shape and color! Embrace your inner femininity by wearing Yoni!

yoni
Enjoy and share with your friends if you feel moved 🙂

Love,

Miyuki

About Miyuki Baker

Miyuki is a resident of the place where circles overlap. As a queer, nomadic, multi-racial/lingual female mixed-media artist activist and healer, she uses common or discarded objects, personal anecdotes, public spaces and performance to make accessible art that brings non-mainstream identities and ideas into maximum visibility. After graduating from Swarthmore College in 2012, she traveled for 14 months as a Watson Fellow to fifteen countries documenting the intersections of art and activism in queer/trans communities in blog posts and self-published magazines while making performance art. The eight magazines Miyuki created on this trip (queerscribe.com) and their strong media following exemplify her illustration/graphic design, storytelling and people skills. Her work has been featured in several magazines such as Hyphen, Broken Pencil and Knik, blogs and radio shows, well-known for their interactive and eye-catching mixed media approach to activism that utilizes both online media and on-site performance and workshops. This fall she will begin the PhD program at UC Berkeley in Performance Studies. You can follow her travels at heymiyuki.wordpress.com and email her at heymiyuki@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

