Food politics, food + culinary justice: reflecting on the work of Michael W. Twitty and Tina Johnson

Michael Twitty Page 1 Michael Twitty Page 2 Michael Twitty Page 3 Michael Twitty Page 4 Michael Twitty Page 5 Michael Twitty Page 6 Michael Twitty Page 7

About Miyuki Baker

Miyuki is a resident of the place where circles overlap. As a queer, multi-racial/lingual female mixed-media artist, she is happiest when working with people who embrace intersectionality. After graduating from Swarthmore College, where she was involved in queer Asian activism and making art, she traveled to a dozen countries on The Watson Fellowship to join the movement in creating a worldwide network of queer artists. See the zines she's making about queer art and activism at queerscribe.com

8 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Afroculinaria and commented:
    I could not ask for a better summation from my Swarthmore experience than this gem from my new friend Miyuki. Isn’t it creative and gorgeous? Love this!@!!!!!

  2. Fascinating and thought provoking.

  3. Pingback: Food and politics | The Plaid Bag Connection

  4. Lynn Peniston

    Fantastic! I loved reading this! Afroculinaria is always interesting and thought provoking. Unfortunately in Urban American neighborhoods, it’s far easier to find liquor stores, chicken wings and “mumbo sauce” then it is to find nourishing foods to feed families.

  5. Thank you to Michael, dswidow, The Plaid Bag and Lynn for commenting and/or reblogging! Lynn: yeah and the thing is, the “cheap” and “fast” food isn’t cheap at all, right? Not just in all the hidden costs but even the main monetary prices! Out where my parents live in rural Pennsylvania too, all I see are unhealthy options :(

  6. I was so excited to read this when I first saw it months ago. I’m back on this page again because I’m adding it to the syllabus for my food and society class in the spring. Thanks for such a clear, fun, and easy to read take on your thoughts!

    • Hi Alison! How exciting that your food and society class will get to read my blog post in the spring. I hope they like it too :) Hoping to get more articles on food up. Thanks so much for letting me know :) Happy new years!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,872 other followers

